Vegan on the Cheap

One thing I hear pretty frequently is that it is “too expensive to eat healthy”. This viewpoint does have some validation. I can rack up my grocery bill some weeks with good quality, flavored olive oil, kombucha drinks, coconut milk frozen desert and Gardein fake meat products. However, it can also be inexpensive to cut out animal products from your diet and eat whole, nutritionally dense foods.

Last night’s dinner is my favorite cheap, fast and healthy meal. This is great for weeknights, after work & yoga, when there is not much time and I do not feel like making a huge meal.

Baked sweet potatoes and vegetarian chili (canned, although you could make a big batch ahead of time) have that balance of sweet and savory that I love.

The sweet potatoes cook in the oven, wrapped in foil, poked in holes with a fork, for about 1 hour. I have also put them in the crock pot on high, as soon as I get home, and by the time I am back from yoga a few hours later, they are done. To serve, I put just a little Earth Balance on and top with a sprinkling of sea salt.

My favorite brand of chili is Trader Joe’s Vegetarian Chili. I also love topping it with chopped scallions & diced avocado.

1 can of chili is $2.59, 4 sweet potatoes cost $2.25, 1 avocado was $1.19. I already had the scallions from last week’s farmers market trip & the rice mixed with the chili was leftover from eating out Thai.

Not counting the scallions, this vegan meal cost $6.03 and fed 3 people. It was also fast and easy to make, not to mention delicious! This picture does it no justice, try it for yourself and let me know what you think!

Image

2 thoughts on “Vegan on the Cheap

Leave a Reply

