January Reads

This month I finished my Harry Potter re-read and read a book that I have been anxiously awaiting release. I was hoping to have read 5 this month, since I want to read 60 in 2013. I am not too worried about it though, since I tend to read a lot more books in the summer months, when I am off work.

I am glad I finally re-read the Harry Potter series. I was forgetting so many of the smaller subplots, and because I read the series so fast the first time through, I wanted to go back through them slower, to enjoy the specifics. I realized that I was also recalling the movie details better than the book and I wanted to refresh my memory about what had been changed.

  1. 5 Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix- I was frustrated with Harry at times through the story, his angsty, adolescent attitude got under my skin, but, I appreciate that Rowling was able to bring this out in me. It shows how connected to the characters I had become and I savor amazing character development.
  2. 6 Harry Potter and the Half-Blooded Prince-I forgot how much I liked this book! I enjoyed all the historical background that was given and what a fluid stage was set for the subsequent book. I cried at the end, which I did not do the first time around.
  3. 7 Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows-I love all the action in this book. The last book in the series gave the story a dignified, climatic ending that connected so many details of the previous 6 books together.
  4. dsb Days of Blood & Starlight-I read the first book, Daughter of Smoke and Bone about one year ago. I was anxiously awaiting the release of this book and I purchased it with gift card money I received for my birthday. I enjoyed this book, it was packed with action. However, it might have been a little too much at times. There was alternating points of view and many new characters introduced, so  I often had a hard time following what was going on.  Just like with Daughter of Smoke and Bone, my favorite aspect of the book was the setting. I was enthralled with the picture Taylor had painted of Prague, and I felt that she did the same with Morocco. I reminisced in all the imagery and felt swept back to my time spent there over the summer. Below are some of the pictures I took, that came to mind as I read: 

m1 m2 m3 m4

Despite some of the confusing moments, I am still looking forward to the third installment in the series.

What are you currently reading?

5 thoughts on “January Reads

  1. I’ve been wanting to read them again as well – I am extremely fuzzy on all the little details..

    Currently reading Blindness by Jose Saramago. Very excellent read

Leave a Reply

