A Weekend of Trail Runs: Joshua Tree & Sheriff’s 10K

This weekend started off with purchasing new trail running shoes. After I discovered my passion for trail running, I knew I would want to incorporate it into my training more often. I tried on and loved the Nike Pegasus. They made quite a difference! Last time, I ran in my boots, which were heavy and inflexible. These shoes were light but have amazing traction. I felt quickly that I could trust them and was soon dodging branches and jumping over rocks in them.

trail shoes

We started off the weekend at Joshua Tree National Park, and ran about 9 miles. We originally had another trail in mind, but there was a storm this past week that brought quite a bit of snow, so we decided to head to the desert instead.

joshua tree joshua tree

The views were amazing. I cranked up my new playlist and let myself get lost in the landscape around me.

This trail had plenty of hills and was a great challenge. I am absolutely hooked on trail running!

trail run trail run

On the way home, we stopped at Native Foods Cafe in Palm Springs. It is an all vegan restaurant with an amazing selection and I have yet to taste anything there that I do not absolutely love. We started with beers and Native wings.

native foods native foods

I ordered the vegan meatball sub & my love ordered the vegan steak sandwich. Both were delicious after our grueling run.

native foods native foods

On Sunday, we were invited to do the Sheriff’s 10K trail run with some friends.

The course started off right away with an intense hill and they kept increasing thereafter. This was one of the steepest ones (but still not the largest). They became completely impossible to run and we ended up briskly walking up most.

sheriffs run

Even the downhill portions were intense. They were so steep and it was hard to make up time on them. I felt like I was going to slide completely down the hills.

sheriffs run

There was a portion around 4.5 miles that finally flattened out. I felt good enough to gain some speed for a while, but the hills soon returned.

8544740317_ea4dbca79f_o 8545837452_c90778c246_o

Check out the elevation chart:

elevation chart

We finished in 1:23, not a great 10K time, but not too bad for all the hills and walking.

8544748547_62c1cb862c_o 8545848660_fb0f5be021_o

After the race, we went to Oscar’s Mexican Restaurant.

We started off with micheladas!

michelada

I ordered the beans and potatoes with a side of avocado and corn tortillas. One of my favorite things about Oscar’s is that they carry soyrizo! My love ordered the soyrizo and potato burrito.

8546066196_bf5a567d17_o 8544967649_87e5a2bcec_o

Hopefully, the weather permits for our next trail run to be in the mountains!

4 thoughts on “A Weekend of Trail Runs: Joshua Tree & Sheriff’s 10K

  1. sounds like a fun place to run! Is that the Nike marathon ’11 t-shirt you’re wearing? I ran the half that year too!

  2. I just ordered a new pair of trail runners (the last pair I had I left for donation after Tough Mudder (they send them to kids without shoes)) and can’t wait for nicer weather (it was 9 degrees yesterday morning) so that I can hit some trails!

Leave a Reply

