May Reads

  1. The Round House– This book was about a Native American woman who is attacked on her reservation. It is chilling and haunting.  I was surprised by how laws can be blurred and tiptoed around, because of boundary issues. The story was mostly told from the point of view of the woman’s adolescent son, and the author did a great job of delving into the psyche of a young man, whose mom has just been the victim of a crime.

  2. The Great Gatsby– I had to re-read this before I saw the movie, just to once again, refresh my memory. This is one of my favorites and I re-read it every so often. It was as poignant as ever, with rich scenery and amazing quotes.

gatsby3. The Sun Also Rises– I know this books is hailed as one of Hemingway’s masterpieces and the perfect portrait of the Lost Generation, and it definitely delivers, but the main part that stuck out to me was the beautiful scenery of France and Spain.  It definitely made me miss Spain and eager to visit France.

sun also rises4. The Valley of the Dolls– This was one of the best books I have read in awhile. I could not put it down and read it within a few sittings. It is dripping with old Hollywood drama and I could definitely see some parallels with some real life starlets.

valley of the dolls

What did you read in May?

6 thoughts on “May Reads

  1. My beloved Valley of the Dolls!! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed it so much!
    The Round House sounds really interesting, I will add that to my to-read list!
    I just finished reading Wild by Cheryl Strayed. I loved it!

  2. I read and saw Valley of the Dolls back in the day when it came out (which shows the diff in our ages lol) and I loved both as well! I like how you keep track if how many books you read per year but I think it’s great that you’re not pressuring yourself about it this year. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

