Summer Plans

I have a few trips planned for this summer, any recommendations or tips would be much appreciated!

1. New Orleans-June 12-16 Today I leave for New Orleans. I have never been to any states in the South and I am very excited about seeing all the charm and history. If you have any recommendations about what to see or do, please pass them along.

NOLA

2. Backpacking through Shepherd’s Pass-June 20-23 Just a few days after returning from NOLA, we will be driving up to Inyo National Park and backpacking our way through Shepherd’s Pass.

I am still fairly a beginner to backpacking, I have only done two other trips (through the Rocky Mountains and to the bottom of the Grand Canyon). I am feeling the typical anxieties about the unknowns of the trail, the rigors and discomforts. From what I have been reading, the trail will definitely be crossing some streams and I will need to jump from rock to rock with a heavy pack on. This seems to be the thing I have the MOST difficulty with and causes me trepidation and worry.

I found this great recap of the trail, and some amazing pictures. I know the views and experience will be worth it and I am eager to conquer my anxieties and fears.

Any tips for a beginning backpacker, or someone who is terrified of stream crossings, heights, climbing, etc.?

Portland, Oregon-July 1-6

I have been wanting to visit Portland for a while now. I am most looking forward to all the vegan food options and free-spirited environment.

Any recommendations on places to eat or places to visit?

What are your summer plans?

 

4 thoughts on “Summer Plans

  1. This dish: 59. Nam Kao— Crispy rice, peanut, ground meat or tofu, fresh Thai chili, mint leaves, lime juice. Served self-wrapped with green leaf lettuce. (I got it with tofu and it was fabulous!!) at this restaurant: http://www.e-santhai.com/ in Portland. Also, this restaurant: http://www.dalos-kitchen.com/.

    My backpacking was all in West Africa and there was no water to cross at all!! Your summer sounds great. I’m headed to Malaga in 1.5 weeks and looking at where I want to go in July (Provence, Croatia, Austria…). Meeting up with my siblings in Edinburgh at the end of August. Might go to Lithuania at the beginning of Aug.

    I’ve been to New Orleans twice. Plan to take multiple showers a day because the humidity is obscene! Have a great time!

Leave a Reply

