The Book Chat-08.08.13 Catching Up

I am so glad that The Book Chat is back! I definitely enjoy the weekly topics and checking out other posts.

thebookchat-general_zps7ce0a4c9

This week we are catching up with what we have been reading. Currently, I am reading the second installment of George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series, A Clash of Kings.

9439055247_5d3e0fc2e1_oI totally jumped on the Game of Thrones bandwagon over this summer, and tore through all 3 seasons, on dvd. Like many people, I became obsessed with the show and clamored to see what would happen next. Even through the gasps, shouts and tears shed (those who have seen the last season know when I cried), I still am invested in the characters and story line, and NEED to know what happens.

I bought the first four books and planned to read them as I watched the series.  You guys, I have to be honest, I am having a hard time getting through this book.

I am not sure if it is because I already know what happens (since I watched the second season), but I cannot seem to get through this book as fast as I thought I would. I am about 200 pages in, and am just not excited about reading it.

This seems like a cop out excuse, but I think part of the reason is because of how fat it is, and difficult to hold. I typically read in bed, and after a while, this book starts hurting my hand, and I just give up and go to sleep.

I am tempted to give up on it, and jump to book 4, because I want to know what happens next.

What would you do? Do you ever give up on books? 

Check out the other Book Chat posts here.

10 thoughts on “The Book Chat-08.08.13 Catching Up

  1. I have SUCH a hard time giving up on books. We even did a Book Chat post on that one time haha. I have been wanting to read Game of Thrones as well, and I refuse to watch the TV show until I read the books. Maybe this will help me get through the books, because I won’t already know the story? Hopefully!

    • I used to have a hard time giving up books, but I finally got to the point where I realized, life is too short and there are too many good books out there to suffer through ones that don’t resonate with me.
      It is usually my rule not to watch something before reading the book first, so I guess I screwed myself up by breaking my own rule!

  2. See I’m the opposite to Megan… I refuse to read the Game of Thrones books until I’ve seen the whole TV show. I just think it would lose the element of I-so-can’t-believe-that-just-effing-happened if I knew what was coming…

  3. LOL Interesting opinions on show v. book here. ^^ I have to side with Megan here. I have been wanting to watch this show, but I can’t until I read the books.
    This is exactly how I’m feeling about the Harry Potter books. Having seen the movies and hearing SO much about them, I already know what happens. It makes it harder to read.
    I’ve heard these are great books for women, even though they give off a more masculine vibe. What are your thoughts?

    • Definitely interesting opinons! I usually keep to the rule of not watching before reading, which is probably why I am all messed up in this series.
      There is so much debate about the portrayal and objectification of women in this series. I can definitely see how it can come across as misogynistic, but there are definitely strong women characters and I see most of the oppression of women as accurate for the period and setting.

  4. I have no problem giving up on books (there are so many books to read out there that I hate to waste my time on something I don’t enjoy). However, I’m not sure I could skip over books in a series.

    I understand your frustration though. I tried to read the first GoT book a couple summers ago and could barely follow the first few pages haha.

Leave a Reply

