The Crazy Sexy Diet, Round 3: A Recap

August 31st marked the 30th day I spent on the Crazy Sexy Diet.

via

via

The Crazy Sexy Diet is also known as the 21 day adventure cleanse, and for three weeks, I strove to:

  • Abstain from all alcohol (DONE. I did this till Day #30)
  • Abstain from ALL animal products (DONE. For 21 days and always!)
  • Abstain from gluten (I did this until Day 21)
  • Abstain from sugar (I need to do a better job of reading the ingredients on EVERYTHING. It’s amazing how many products have sugar hidden in their lists.) (I was MUCH more mindful of sugar but still had a hard time eliminating it completely from my diet.)
  • Dry brush everyday (cleanse off dead skin cells that contain released toxins). (I did this a couple of times/week. My skin has still not completely recovered from a fight with poison ivy last month. Dry brushing everyday would have irritated my skin too much.)
  • MOVE for at least 30 minutes each day. Even if it’s a 30 minute walk with my dogs, I need to get in some form of exercise each day. (DONE)
  • Do a minimum of 20 minutes of yoga each day. (I am very proud of how well I did with this. I actually only stuck to the 20 minutes once or twice. Normally, my minimum was 60 minutes of yoga.)
  • Meditate for a minimum of 20 minutes each day. (I slipped up 3 or 4 times, when I completely forgot about it.)
  • Sleep at least 8 hours every night. (I was doing pretty well with this until the last week. Southern California has been awfully hot and humid, and sleep has proven more difficult.)

Gluten

After day 21, I decided to extend the diet to 30 days. It just made sense to go until my yoga teacher training was finished. The only thing I changed after 21 day was re-introducing gluten.

I had never completely cut out gluten before. I wanted to eliminate it just as an experiment, and I have to say, I did not notice much of a difference. As I previously thought, I probably do not have any sensitivities to gluten. I did feel like I ate less simple carbohydrates by eliminating gluten, and it was not nearly as hard as I thought it would be. I think I want to eat it less frequently now, in my diet.

Sugar

I may be overly paranoid about sugar since reading this article, but I still feel like I may be eating too much sugar. I worked pretty hard to read all ingredients and not buy anything with added sugar in it.

While tracking my calories and nutrients in MyFitnessPal, I found that I was consistently going over my sugar intake for the day. Most of my sugar is coming from fruit. Maybe I am eating too much fruit? In the summer, it is so hard not to enjoy all the beautiful, juicy seasonal picks.

I am still going to strive to not purchase food with added sugar ingredients.

Other Observations:

  • Until the current heat/humidity kicked I, I was sleeping much better.
  • My digestion improved.
  • As always, my skin is telling me that it is healthier and more hydrated.
  • I lost 6 pounds.
  • I felt fuller, much faster. It did not take as much to fill me up. Most of my food choices were so nutrient dense that a smaller portion went a longer ways.
  • I feel more centered, calm and serene. I am sure meditating and yoga everyday helps with this, but I know my diet also contributed.
  • Overall, I just feel MUCH better. This alone should be motivation to continue eating this way. I do not feel guilty about consuming processed food. I do not feel sluggish, run down or dehydrated from drinking alcohol, eating sugar or vegan junk food. I feel alive, present and grateful.

What’s Next

I really hope to continue on this path. I think it was a great sign that Day 21 came and went, and I decided to stick with it, with minimal effort. Eating whole, unprocessed foods has become more integrated into my life and less like a “diet.”

I know I will not be perfect, and I am looking forward to a little bit of wine, but overall, eating a clean, vegan diet is best for my body, heart and soul, my animal friends and my planet.

taken at Native Foods, Costa Mesa

taken at Native Foods, Costa Mesa

Please let me know if you have any questions about The Crazy Sexy Diet!

2 thoughts on “The Crazy Sexy Diet, Round 3: A Recap

  1. I would really like to try this! It seems like a great way to detox. Just not sure there are enough hours in the day to exercise, meditate and do yoga, plus get a full 8 hours sleep 🙂

Leave a Reply

