A Review of Cruetly-Free Make-Up E.L.F.

I have to be honest and disclose that giving up my MAC make-up has been one of my hardest vegan tasks, yet. It has been a few months and I am still struggling to find make-up that is not tested on animals, but is still good quality.

E.L.F. products were recommended to me (thanks, everyone!) because they are cruelty-free and extremely affordable. Those were two huge selling points, but I wondered about the quality of products that were so inexpensive.

I finally made my way over to Target, and purchased a few items. I bought the Essential liquid eyeliner in black, Matte lip color in Nearly Nude, 3-in-1 mascara in Very Black, Waterproof eyeliner pen in Black, Flawless eyeshadow quad in Tantalizing Taupe, and the following eyeshadows: Moondust, Wheat, Pink Ice and Teal.

100_1447

I first tried out the Tantalizing Taupe quad. I was very impressed with how well the colors went on, and blended together. I followed the directions in using the colors corresponding with the base, lid and crease, but the liner did not show up as dark as I would have liked. However, I did find that the liner made a perfect match to fill in my eyebrows. I was extremely pleased with this quad.

12498540743_4d6b8ed8ab_o

I also used the Essential liquid liner. I was loved how easily this glided on, and how fast it dried. One of my biggest make-up peeves is eyeliner that dries slowly and smears when I curl my eyelashes.

The only disappointment of this day was the 3-in-1 mascara. It went on too watery and my eyelashes lost their curl pretty soon after I applied one coat. I have had such a hard time finding a good, cruelty-free mascara. I know part of the issue is that I prefer curved brushes for my mascara, they seem to hold the curl better in my eyelashes, that grow straight out.

12498373385_993e19d8f1_oOverall, I was happy with the quality of these products. Please excuse all the car selfies in this post, I seemed to find the best light in the car to show off my make-up.

12498375495_c0facf7495_o The next product I was anxious to try out was the Teal eyeshadow. I love vibrant colors and have been having an especially hard time finding them in cruelty-free brands.

I was very pleased with the Teal shadow. It went on pretty bright, even without a primer (which I always used under my MAC shadows). I used the same base from the quad eyeshadow and brushed the Teal shadow on the crease of my lid.

I also used the Waterproof eyeliner pen. It went on easily and also dried very quickly.

12498404215_4515317cfa_o

I used the Matte lip color as the base for my lipstick (NYC Ultra moist lipstick in Blossom). I have been looking for a Nude lipliner that I can use underneath my vibrant lipsticks, to help them adhere better. This lip color worked well and helped the color from my lipstick to pop.

12498409305_9998618628_o

This is the finished look. I was happy with the way the colors stood out:

12498542513_7ebe00fac6_oNext, I tried the other eyeshadows. I used Pink Ice under my brow as a highlighter, Wheat all over my lid and Moondust in the crease. I used the Waterproof eyeliner pen again. These colors did not stand out as much, but I did like the natural look they created, with a touch of shimmer. The picture below was taken at the end of my work day, and I felt the make-up lasted well, even amongst my bad habit of rubbing my eyes and smearing my make-up.

12498898274_faf88283fd_oThe last product was a present from my sister (we still give each Valentine’s presents). It is the Jumbo Lip Gloss Stick in Movie Star. I liked the soft color this gave off. I love me some bold, red lipstick, but this lip gloss was a nice option for work. It gave my face a nice glow of color without coming off too harsh.

I also used the Pink Ice eyeshadow all over my lid and under my brows, and the Waterproof eyeliner pen.

12498545523_d5c0514cf4_oOverall, I was extremely pleased with their products and am excited to try more. I love supporting a company that is committed to not testing on animals. I am eager to have fun with make-up again, I had almost lost hope that maybe I would not find quality, cruelty-free products.

6 thoughts on “A Review of Cruetly-Free Make-Up E.L.F.

  1. I hadn’t ever heard of ELF makeup! The only vegan makeup I’m familiar with (and have bought) call costs and arm and a leg… and I’m assuming that since you bought this at Target (as opposed to Sephora), it was reasonably priced! Very pretty 🙂

  2. I’m having the hardest time finding cruelty free foundation I like. I tried wet and wild – meh. Next I tried E.L.F – love the way it looks, but it makes me break out :/ I was going to try physicians formula for mascara, not sure what to do about foundation 😦

Leave a Reply

