Day 5 of 7 Day Juice Cleanse

I started off day 5 feeling incredibly rested. I was happy it was the weekend and I was able to catch up on sleep, but wondering how the day would go, without the business of work to keep me occupied.

I felt incredibly energetic and knew I was finally caught up on sleep. I am noticing the amount of sleep really affects the way I feel on this cleanse.

The weather was quickly heating up, so we took our puppies for a walk, before starting our daily juicing.

14130779558_95b0943c68_o

Today’s juice ingredients are listed below. All recipes are for 2 juices, approximately 16-20 ounces each.

14130925220_aa00d8df63_o

1. 3 Beets, 2 green apples, 2 cucumbers, 1 bunch of kale, 1 inch of ginger, 1 lemon, 2 tablespoons of spirulina

14317440295_bfc14d7233_o 14130906697_e9e8b9beab_o

2.  3 cups of probiotic coconut water, 1 pound of blueberries, himalayan sea salt    

3.  1 Pineapple, 2 yellow bell peppers, 1 bunch celery, 1 inch of ginger, 1 lemon, 2 tablespoons of chia seeds

14337638813_d3443b9849_o

4.  1 bunch of celery, 1 cucumber, 1 bunch of broccoli, 1 bunch parsley, 1 lemon, 1 inch of ginger. This was one of my favorites! It was so green and fresh tasting.

14314201491_241042d51c_oBoth my husband and I felt energetic, and decided to go to the gym. I felt good enough to do 20 minutes of cardio, 30 minutes of strength training and spend 15 minutes in the sauna. My energy stayed high throughout and after my workout.

We both continued to feel good throughout the day and thought we were on easy street, until we went over to a friend’s house, to play games. We knew our friends would probably be eating and drinking, and we came prepared with some juice to sip on. We were not, however, prepared for our FAVORITE chips to be present. The sight of them made us go:

We both love those chips only slightly less than we love each other. I seriously had thoughts about how it would taste to blend them with my current juice in a smoothie, and would this be allowed on the juice cleanse?

Somehow, we maintained composure and sipped our juice, even though I was thinking of chips and beer. We still had a great time with our friends and that helped us get our focus off of food. We both devoured our smoothies when we got home. The smoothie contained: 2 bananas, 4 figs, 2 handfuls of spinach, 1/4 cup of soy protein powder, 2 tablespoons of flax seed meal and 3 cups of coconut water.14130925940_d1b4185e25_o

Additional detox of the day: profanity

Today I tried to be mindful of my language and not use profanity. It was actually not as hard as I thought it would be, and I only caught myself slipping up twice. I did, however, pick a weekend day that was more relaxed and not involving the stress of work, an hour commute or a tight schedule, so that might have influenced the ease in the task.

I would like to intend to use more appropriate language. Working with high schoolers, I find I pick up their slang more often than I care to admit, and though I do not necessarily think it is wrong, under certain circumstances, I know I feel negativity when I use it, and would like to keep it to a minimum.

 

Leave a Reply

