Day 7 of 7 Day Juice Cleanse

I woke up feeling a buzzing sort of energy. Today was the last day! I had an absolute inordinate amount of energy and was awake an hour earlier than normal. After unsuccessfully trying to go back to sleep, I decided to start my day at 3:15 AM.

Unlike previous juice cleanses, I did not necessarily feel myself counting down the minutes and seconds till it was over. With the exception of a few salt & vinegar chip related moments, I think I have done pretty well at staying in the present and being OK with my decision to carry out this cleanse, and feel at peace that it was only temporary; it was OK if everyone was enjoying delicious food around me. I have enjoyed plenty of food in my lifetime, and will have many more moments of food enjoyment, right now has been about enjoying detoxing my body and learning a little bit more about the strength of my mind.

Day 7’s juice ingredients are listed below. All ingredients listed are for 2 juices, approximately 16-20 ounces, each.

1. 1 bunch of kale, handful of mint, 1 bunch of celery, 2 green apples, 1 lemon, 1 inch of ginger, 2 tablespoons of spirulina  

2. 3 cups of probiotic coconut water, a few pieces of turmeric, 1 inch of ginger, 1 lemon, a generous shake of cayenne and 2 tablespoons of chia seeds    

3.  4 Carrots, 2 red bell peppers, 2 oranges, 1 bunch of red radishes, 1 bunch of kale, 1 lemon, 1 inch of ginger  

4.  3 beets, 1 bunch of broccoli, 1 bunch of kale, 1 bunch of parsley, 1 bunch of celery, 2 green apples, 1 lemon, 1 inch of ginger

14148248407_463ffd3300_o

I felt particularly productive at work and clear minded. I felt more focused than I had in a long time and got quite a bit of organizing and planning done. This may very well be because it was my first work day without students (they finished school last Friday and I have one more week of work), but I think the cleanse definitely contributed to my high energy and mental acuity.

The main theme of the day was ENERGY. I felt so amazing and unstoppable. It’s rare for me to have such sustaining energy throughout the entire day. I usually have an afternoon crash around 3, and constantly crave a nap.

At the end of my work day, I buzzed around and did some errands, then bounced into a 90 minute hot yoga class, at 5:00 PM. Normally, I would have to talk myself into going. It was a hot day already and normally by this time, I am sluggish and not looking forward to moving and holding poses in a heated room. I am always grateful I went, when it is over, but it generally takes some inner motivation and pep talking to get me there. However, I could not wait to start class and I felt a HUGE difference in the fluidity of my poses and movements. It was an amazing experience to do this class, after 7 days of juice cleansing.

After class, I chugged my last juice and headed home. This is a pretty unflattering picture of me with a beet mouth and hot yoga hair, but I think it captures the utter bliss I was feeling.

14148129100_b36a2e6bc2_o I came home, showered, and re-watched the previous evening’s episode of Game of Thrones (because I am still not over it!). My energy was still high until later in the evening, which is absolutely unheard of for me! I tend to be an early riser, but with a 3:00 AM wake up time, I was sure I was going to be ready for bed by 7:00, but I ended up not falling asleep till a little after 9:00.

Additional detox of the day: social media

I took a break from social media for the entire day; no instagram, facebook, twitter, pinterest or bloglovin’. I think staying away from these distractions also contributed to the focus I felt and one pointedness my mind had on tasks, as opposed to being in 20 other places. I realized how distracted I get with these apps and it was almost embarrassing to discover how much time I actually spend on them each day. I would like to take more breaks from them or really start to scale back on my use.

Does social media affect your focus?

6 thoughts on “Day 7 of 7 Day Juice Cleanse

  1. I happily live without a smart phone or apps (I truly, seriously have an old-school flip phone and no plans or desires to upgrade). Even without that I still feel like I spend too much time online and love get-aways where I don’t have access. My brain craves the break as much as it craves the connection and it’s difficult to find the balance sometimes.

Leave a Reply

