Guest Post by my Sister Marcella: The Harmonious Relationship Between My Veggie Sisters and I

I should still be in Paris today, hopefully off exploring Versailles. My sister Marcella is the guest blogger today. She is my middle sister and the one who eats meat, but I still love her. I am sure it cannot be easy to try to always accommodate two non-animal eating siblings, but she has been a great sport about it, and is always up to try new foods. I will let her tell you how she does it…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hi All!

I’m Marcella, and I’m taking over the show while Angie is in Europe. I’m the middle sister of the Martinez clan: I’m the tall one, the artsy one, and the carnivorous one.

Marcella 1

Angie asked if I would write a post while she was off exploring, but I didn’t know what to write about. She suggested writing about a vegan dish that I like, and I thought that was a great idea. There’s one thing that I LOVE talking about and that’s food!

As I mentioned before I’m the carnivore of the bunch. Both sisters have been on the peace-eating path for years now, and as you can guess, that has caused both challenges and creativity for our meals. When it comes time for us to have a gathering, the easiest meal that we all agree on is BBQ!

We have always been fans of hot dogs, so it’s something that we usually throw on the grill. There’s lots of good brands out there (Morning Star, Yves), but they aren’t always vegan.

However, Smart Dogs are labeled vegan and are actually pretty good.

Marcella 2

Top these with barbeque sauce and grilled jalapenos, and you are in for a tasty treat.

Now for side dishes.

I love Bush’s Vegetarian Beans. They are only labeled vegetarian, but both the label and the website have stated that the product does not contain any meat by products.

Bush FAQ

Marcella 3

Now, get your favorite summer veggies prepped. We cut up zucchini, bell peppers, and onions.  Coat them in olive oil, sprinkle some lemon juice, salt and pepper and grill until tender.

Lastly, we grill the corn (well actually we put the corn on first because it takes the longest to grill…but you get the idea).

I like to leave the corn in the husk when grilling, but you can do whatever suits your fancy.

Marcella 4

Eat with butter (vegan butter of course) and chili powder and Enjoy!

So I hope you enjoyed this post, and I hope that you enjoy our favorite vegan treats.

Happy Grilling!

2 thoughts on “Guest Post by my Sister Marcella: The Harmonious Relationship Between My Veggie Sisters and I

Leave a Reply

