October Reads

I had another slow reading month, but I am done beating myself up about it. Reading is one of my ultimate methods of relaxation and fun, so I do not want to attach any type of stress to it. I started this year off with a certain number of books in mind that I wanted to finish. However, this is proving unlikely, so I am throwing that out the window and just enjoying reading, when I can.

1. The first book I read this month was The Senator’s Wife, by Sue Miller. The lovely Katherin mailed me this book, because she thought I would like it. She was absolutely right. It told the story of two women who become neighbors, one, a new wife and mother, and the other, as the title suggests, a senator’s wife. Their lives begin to parallel and intertwine with one another.  It was wonderfully written and full of the complicated nature and unpredictable patterns about marriage.

senators-wife-190

2. When Things Fall Apart by Pema Chodron. This book was packed with such practical and insightful wisdom. It reminded me that difficult times are not something to fear, run from or avoid, but a wonderful learning opportunity and chance to practice all the hard work that is done through meditation. I am looking forward to reading more of Chodron’s books.

when things fall apart

Currently Reading

It took me awhile to figure out what to read next. I am in quite a bit of a reading rut lately. I started Life After Life about two weeks ago, and it took me awhile to get into it. It has finally gotten to an interesting point, but I still have about 200 pages to go.

Any suggestions on what to read next, to get me out of my rut?

Leave a comment