Day 3 of 7 Day Juice Cleanse

I got a little behind on blogging, but here is a recap of day 3:

I woke up feeling aaaaa-maaaa-ziiiing. I bounced out of bed shortly after my first alarm went off (I set 3 alarms). I was happily awake at 4 AM and ready for yoga. I did an hour long class on YogaGlo, and felt energized and invigorated.

I was hoping this energy would sustain me through the day, because it was going to be a long one. Graduation for the school I work at was taking place, and I would be at work till late until the evening.

This was the haul I took to work, this needed to be enough for the entire day:

14298178291_ef53a481bd_o

All ingredients listed are for two juices, approximately 16-20 ounces, each.

1. 3 beets, 1 bunch of celery, 1 bunch of cilantro, 1 cucumber, 1 inch of ginger, 1 lemon, 1 bunch of parsley, 1 bunch of romaine lettuce, 1 tablespoon of spirulina

2. 2 grapefruit, 2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar, 3 cups of coconut water

3. 3 beets, 1 bunch of kale, 1 lemon, 2 handfuls of mint

4. 1 lemon, 2 apples, 6 carrots, 1 inch of ginger, 1 tablespoon of chia seeds

Smoothie: 2 bananas, 1 handful of soaked almonds, 1 cup of frozen blueberries, 1 tablespoon of almond butter, 2 handfuls of spinach, 1/4 cup of soy protein powder, 1 tablespoon of maca powder

My energy remained high throughout the day and my head felt incredibly clear. I had a particularly productive day at work and felt unstoppable! It was a pretty busy day, but I felt like I was able to handle what came my way with ease. My energy lasted till around 9 PM (I am usually in bed by this time, but I was still at graduation), but I still felt pretty good.

14307214012_7aafc2446f_o

 

Day 3 was amazing. I felt so good and strong. I did not feel bothered by food pictures on Instagram or by going to Subway with my co-worker for dinner (I sipped my smoothie, while she ate), where normally the smell of the bread would cause me to crave a sandwich.

My husband also felt energetic. He is a teacher and is already finished with his school year. He kept himself busy all day with bike riding, dog walking, the gym and golfing. This is him sipping juice on the course:

14300958554_84ffbdc0a5_o

At the end of this day, I was hopeful that this cleanse would be easier than past ones, but still cautious about what would come.

Additional detox of the day: dry brushing

I first started dry brushing when I did Kris Carr’s 21 day adventure cleanse. Dry brushing removes toxins that are being released through our body’s largest organ; the skin. It is also incredibly invigoration and I love doing it in the morning to get my blood flowing.

This is a great chart that shows which direction to dry brush in, to stimulate the lymphatic system.

This video also gives a great description of how and why to dry brush:

Leave a comment